International Institute for Higher Education Research & Capacity Building

Ms. Ravneet Pawha

Ravneet Pawha is currently the Deputy Vice President – Global and CEO (South Asia) of Deakin University Australia. Ravneet was awarded the prestigious Business Leader of the Year at the India Australia Business Council Awards 2018. She has a Master in Education and Training and a Master in Business Administration, a gold medalist in her postgraduate studies. With over 27 years of experience in the International education sector, Ravneet has been instrumental in establishing global collaborations and strategic partnerships. She has developed Australian Education collaborations specifically for Deakin University in India and has contributed to the immense success across the region. Currently, she is the Global Vice President and CEO South Asia at Deakin University. She is responsible for establishing holistic engagement across Government, academia, industry and research. She is also responsible for global strategy for Deakin for developing partnerships. The South Asia operations are managed through an office at New Delhi which was established 25 years ago. This is the first ever international ‘University office’ in India of any foreign education provider. She has been instrumental in establishing over 20 strong industry -academic collaborations including the $10 million world class TERI-Deakin Nano-Bio research facility in India. Prior to her current appointment she worked as Chief Executive Officer (South Asia and Middle East) for Education and Training Pty Ltd. She held senior management positions with IDP Education Australia, British Council and Franchise Asia, a US based company where she was responsible to establish and manage the network of offices across India for education and training purposes. She brings with her varied international experience. She is a board member at various national and international associations and forums including the Rajasthan Royals , Confederation of Indian Industry, Australia India Business Council, Indian Sports Council, ANZBA to name a few.